Username
Password
Login is SSL protected. By clicking on "Log in Now" you agree to gixen.com terms of usage.
Forum is available in English only.


   SearchSearch     

EARLY snipe !!!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gixen.com Forum Index -> Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DBSDBS
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 18, 2019 11:21 am    Post subject: EARLY snipe !!! Reply with quote

Today I paid for a Mirror options!

Made snipe time to 2 seconds...

Some minutes ago I saw that the snipe time was 5 seconds before end ebay # 202754731839 !

I have a screen shot but do not know how to put it here....

Why I have paid you ?
[/img]
Back to top
Cupid



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 5677
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have the snipe time set to 2 seconds on both the Main and the Mirror ?

These are displayed on different tabs within the web interface.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DBSDBS
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Aug 19, 2019 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cupid wrote:
Do you have the snipe time set to 2 seconds on both the Main and the Mirror ?

These are displayed on different tabs within the web interface.


Yes it is set!
Back to top
Cupid



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 5677
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In that case you might be the first to ever report a snipe being sent early.

The only one that could check the details on the server is Mario and, since he's often busy making sure everything keeps running smoothly, he may not see this thread for a while, so if you would like to contact him directly please do so via email to the support address given on the Contact tab above. Please also direct him to this thread so that he can provide the answer for us all.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DBSDBS
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emailed this on Sun Aug 18.

Still no answer!
Back to top
mario
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 6275

PostPosted: Tue Aug 20, 2019 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't see that the bid offset was 2 seconds, I see 6 on the main server, and status "OUTSNIPED".

Note that it's unlikely that the winning bid was a reaction to your bid - it was most likely pre-scheduled, just like your bid. With 2-second snipe you would still lose, only status would be "BID UNDER ASKING PRICE".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Cupid



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 5677
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Readers should also note that changing the default offset on the Settings page will not change the offsets on any snipes that are already scheduled.

Perhaps that is the cause of the confusion here.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DBSDBS
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cupid wrote:
Readers should also note that changing the default offset on the Settings page will not change the offsets on any snipes that are already scheduled.

Perhaps that is the cause of the confusion here.


Aha, I see... this should be the "problem"...

A good idea is to describe this somewhere in the site.

Thanks
Back to top
Cupid



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 5677
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The value for an individual snipe is displayed on the snipe, on the left hand side under the item number. This is why I first asked you to check that it was set on both the 'Main' and 'Mirror' tabs.

On the settings page in the relevant section it says:

... 'default bid offset' ...

That is what a 'default' is, it's a setting that is used when another is not specified. It therefore sets the value that appears as the 'default' option for any new snipes that you set up, you can still specify a different offset for any individual snipe by choosing a different value from the drop down list before you add the snipe.

If you change the value of the default all it does is change that default on the drop down list for new snipes. If you want to change the value on a specific snipe, after you have already scheduled it, you can do so by editing that snipe and changing the value on the drop down list, and then saving it again.
_________________
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Gixen.com Forum Index -> Support All times are GMT - 8 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You can post new topics in this forum
You can reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

© 2019 Gixen.com. Forum powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group.